Questions


Image

Here are just some basic questions that people ask me in the chess world.

Where are you from?

I was born in Odessa, Ukraine. When I just turned three years old, my parents decided to move to Canada to start a new life. I am currently eighteen years old, I have lived in Canada fifteen years now.

What age did you start playing chess?

At the age of four, I already knew how to move the pieces and even played many games with my father. That same year, I lost interest. Age nine, I started up again.

How did you start playing chess?

I started playing chess because of my father (Sergiy Orlov), he was once a chess player and coach himself back when he lived in Odessa, Ukraine. The reason why I got back into chess at the age of nine was thanks to my father, who offered me to play against an IM at a Simultaneous exhibition. The simul was a success, I ended up drawing my first real game against this player! I was excited to carry on playing.

What attracted you to the game?

I would say I have chess in my blood, My father and Grandfather played chess very competitively. My grandfather was even an IM when he was living in San Francisco, USA. Sadly he passed away in 2009.

Who taught you chess?

My father taught me chess for most of my chess career, this was during the years of 2004-2008. Sadly, after 2008 I decided to quit chess all together for about one and a half years. I ended up coming back into the chess world during the early 2010 year, but did not study nor improve because I was a high school student.

When did you begin playing tournaments and how did you do?

When I was nine years old, I went to my first national tournament – Canadian Youth Chess Championship 2004. I played in the Under 10 Category and got second place! My old friend WCM Alexandra Botez was the one who was undefeated and got first!

Who was your coach?

My father was mostly my coach. IM Yuri Ochkoos as well, for a short period of time.

What is your study routine now?

I have to admit, I have not studied for almost four and a half years. I had high school, and now currently college on my mind. I am trying to change my ways for next year though (2013). I would like to play a chess tournament in Iceland this upcoming February so I will most definitely start studying before that!

What is your greatest achievement?

Other than representing the Canadian Women’s Team at the World Chess Olympiad in 2010 (Board 4) and 2012 (Board 3).

World Youth Chess Championship 2008 in Vietnam. My result was 7/11 – 5 wins, 4 draws, 2 losses. I was tied for 9th place!

If anyone has any questions feel free to contact me or write a comment below! Check the ‘contact’ page to send me an email!  I will reply as soon as possible!

4 thoughts on “Questions”

  1. Hello !

    If you can you answer (if it’s not a secret) :
    What type of opening do you play ?
    Who is your favorite player ?

    Thank you.

    1. I have to admit, I do not like playing openings which have a lot of theory.
      But I like to play as Black: Sicilian – Accelerated Dragon & For White: Larsen Opening!

      My favorite player is Mikhail Tal! I love the way he attacks! I would never have such ambition!

      Hopefully I answered what you wanted to hear 🙂

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into
    starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s